Me Before You

me-before-you-2016-1

4/5 Stars

Summary: “Young and quirky Louisa “Lou” Clark (Emilia Clarke) moves from one job to the next to help her family make ends meet. Her cheerful attitude is put to the test when she becomes a caregiver for Will Traynor (Sam Claflin), a wealthy young banker left paralyzed from an accident two years earlier. Will’s cynical outlook starts to change when Louisa shows him that life is worth living. As their bond deepens, their lives and hearts change in ways neither one could have imagined.”

This was a really adorable (and sad, obviously) movie.  Turns out, I am Louisa without the quirky, outgoing personality.  When asked what she does with her time she answers work, spends time with family, and watches TV.  Pretty much me in a nutshell.  I loved watching her come out of that, though I do wish the change could have been a little bit more.  The movie was nearly 2 hours long as it is, so I don’t know how they would’ve fit it in anyway.

Half way through, I wasn’t sure how the ending was going to go, what type of story it was trying to be.  I’m glad it went the way that it did, not giving any spoilers, but it just worked.

The story is apparently based on a book, and I will be adding it to my never ending to read list.  When I get to it, I will definitely let you know what I think.

Leave a Reply

