We Were Liars – E. Lockhart

wewereliars__140612011956

4/5 Stars

Summary: “A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart.”

Where to even start with this book?  The summary really doesn’t give much away, and so I found myself not exactly sure where the book was going, even once I had been reading for a while.  It was kind of like reading someone’s diary, where they’re writing down what’s happening, but there isn’t necessarily going to be a build up to something because that’s not the way real life always works.  But I knew there had to be something coming.

It all surrounds the mystery of an accident.  Which isn’t gotten to until pretty far into the book.  And even then, I wasn’t like okay, this is what the story is about.  It didn’t feel like there were clues sitting around for me to pick up and try and piece together.  I didn’t feel like I was solving a mystery.  Right before I’d gotten to the fourth (and last) part of the book, I thought to myself that it was kind of just a meh book.  Nice, but nothing special.  Was I missing something?  Was it just not my type of book?

And then I got to the ending.

It was a twist I didn’t see coming at all, which I love in a story.  It was unbelievable, but it made sense and it was heartbreaking.  I couldn’t put the book down after that (and I really had to stop so I could leave for work).  The ending is what makes the book, without the beginning, though, it wouldn’t have meant the same.  After finishing it, the ending just kind of sat with me most of the morning, which is why I have to give it four stars.

Also, it really bothers me that there is no explanation why the four are called the liars.  If someone can explain that to me, I’d really appreciate it!!

One thought on “We Were Liars – E. Lockhart

Leave a Reply

