The Fundamentals of Caring

c79c1b7da94b81f238dc4eea5026f193e690f6ac

5/5 Stars

Summary: “A writer (Paul Rudd) retires after a personal tragedy and becomes a disabled teen’s caregiver. When the two embark on an impromptu road trip, their ability to cope is tested as they start to understand the importance of hope and friendship.”

Somebody please explain to me how The Fundamentals of Caring only has a 55% on Metacritic.  (This is why I hate critics!!!!)  I loved this movie from the beginning to the very last line.  It was absolutely hilarious…and then sad, and hilarious again.

Past Netflix original movies haven’t had the best buzz, though I haven’t watched any of them myself, so I wasn’t sure how this one was going to go.  I will automatically watch almost every movie Paul Rudd is in and Craig Roberts in Red Oaks is AMAZING, so it was a no brainer that I was going to watch this.  Along with Selena Gomez, who was surprisingly good, the three were great together.

The road trip idea isn’t exactly original, obviously, but the way it all comes together makes it feel like something special.  It had a way of fitting a lot of story into only 88 minutes, without it feeling like it skipped around a lot.  I seriously can’t believe it was that short.

Anyone who needs a good comedy–I mean, why wouldn’t you–should watch this movie. It put me in a good mood and I had a smile on my face most of the time.  Go watch it now and then come back and tell me what you thought.

Available on Netflix.

One thought on “The Fundamentals of Caring

Leave a Reply

