Regression

regression

3/5 Stars

Summary: “Minnesota, 1990. Detective Bruce Kenner (Ethan Hawke) investigates the case of young Angela (Emma Watson), who accuses her father, John Gray (David Dencik), of an unspeakable crime. When John unexpectedly and without recollection admits guilt, renowned psychologist Dr. Raines (David Thewlis) is brought in to help him relive his memories and what they discover unmasks a horrifying nationwide mystery.”

First let me say this movie had so many familiar faces, it was ridiculous.  Every five seconds I’d be like, “oh look, there’s that guy,” which usually means it’s going to be a good movie. I mean, with names like Emma Watson, Ethan Hawke, and David Thewlis (saying lines straight from Harry Potter more than a couple times), I just assumed it would be something I’d enjoy since I usually love their movies.  But they weren’t really used to their full potential.  I don’t know, I just didn’t really like it.

I wouldn’t tell people to specifically not watch it, which is why I’m still giving it 3 stars, but I wouldn’t tell them to run out and grab it either.  For me, the movie started off in the wrong place.  I kind of felt like we had missed the whole beginning. Very little backstory, we were just thrown into something but it took a little too long to get a full idea on what was going on for that to actually work.

I love the idea of Regression, and know that it was a big thing, along with the satanic paranoia in the 80’s and 90’s. But I feel like the way it was handled didn’t make much sense.  Shouldn’t it have taken a lot more for regression like this to happen?

And was it just me, or was the ending not surprising at all?  I didn’t know the details, but I guessed the deal from the title of the movie.

I don’t know, maybe I just didn’t get it. Let me know if you’ve seen the movie and what you thought.

Available on Amazon Prime.

Leave a Reply

