Me Before You – Jojo Moyes

me-before-you

4/5 Stars

Summary: “Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.”

I told you guys I was going to read the book, though I didn’t think I would get to it so soon after watching the movie.  It was the first on my hold list at the library to turn up, so what was I going to do?

The adaption of this book was spot on.  It’s rare that both the book and the movie are on a completely equal playing field.  While a few things were different or left out, it wasn’t anything that would’ve annoyed me if I had read the book first (ahem Harry Potter and literally every other adaptation).  In the beginning, the two were so similar that I wasn’t sure I should even bother reading the book, but as I kept going I got more into it as the differences appeared.

I did relate less to the main character though, which I guess I would say is the main difference between the book and the movie.  Getting a little more backstory into her life really changes the character.

I’m excited to read the next book in the series!  I really want to know what is next for Lou after dealing with all of that.  It might be what I end up reading next, but I’m not sure yet.

Read it?  Let me know what you thought.

2 thoughts on “Me Before You – Jojo Moyes

Leave a Reply

