Book Tag: Mid Year Freak Out

So I’ve decided I’m going to put some tags on here every once in a while, to fill up the days where I haven’t finished watching/reading anything.  I know it’s a little past mid-year, but I read a bunch of these and thought it’d be fun.  I tag anyone who wants to do it for themselves, leave the link to your post in the comments if you do.

Best Book You’ve Read in 2016

the-butterfly-garden-movie-optioned

I reread the Harry Potter series at the beginning of the year and am not going to count them in this.  My favorite new book I read this year has to be The Butterfly Garden by Dot Hutchison.  It had me hooked from beginning to end.  I love mystery/thriller sort of books and the way this one was told was different and exciting.  Loved it!

Best Sequel You’ve Read in 2016

winter2bis2bcoming

Again, not counting Harry Potter, I have to go with Winter by Marissa Meyer.  Last year I read all the previous books in the Lunar Chronicles series, including the short stories, and was so happy (and sad) to get to read the final book.  It was a great ending to an awesome series.

New Release You Haven’t Read But Want To

nestwide

The Nest by Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney.  I heard a lot of good things about this book.  Hopefully I’ll get to it by the end of the year.

Most Anticipated Release for Second Half of the Year

fb-og

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child.  Obviously.  I know it’s just a script and not technically a book, but I’m excited anyway.

Biggest Disappointment

28351310

Star Sand by Roger Pulvers.  The beginning of the book was really enjoyable, but the end ruined it for me.  It didn’t feel like it belonged at all and I would’ve rather the story ended after part one.

Biggest Surprise

wewereliars__140612011956

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart.  The ending at least, I did not see that coming!

Favorite New Author

I haven’t found a new favorite yet this year, but I am interested to see what else Rainbow Rowell has written after reading Fangirl.

Newest Fictional Crush

I don’t really think I have one from this year.

Newest Favorite Character

I was most interested by Maya from The Butterfly Garden, but also really liked Cath from Fangirl.

Book that Made You Cry

I’m not really someone that will cry from reading a book, plus I don’t read books that are that sad anyway.

Book that Made You Happy

Every time I reread Harry Potter, it just brings back the happy feeling of reading them for the first time.

Favorite Adaptation

me-before-you

The adaptation of Me Before You by Jojo Moyes was very well done in my opinion.  Granted I did watch the movie before reading the book, but they were very similar.

Most Beautiful Book

I guess everyone is going by the look of the cover, so Winter.

Book You Need to Read By the End of the Year

Ck_awTpWgAAX6Y9.png-small

 

I’m trying to get to all of the books from the Zoella Book Club before the end of the summer, so Billy and Me, Beautiful Broken Things, The Sky is Everywhere,  All the Bright Places, and Everything, Everything.  It’s been harder to get these books from the library than I thought, but I’m working on it.

Leave a Reply

