Cuckoo (Seasons 1-3)

cuckoo-e1457367084478

5/5 Stars

Summary: “Cuckoo is every parent’s worst nightmare – a slacker full of outlandish, New Age ideas.  After meeting and marrying him while away on Gap Year, Rachel brings him home to join the family.”

Cuckoo had been sitting in my Netflix queue pretty much since it became available.  The summary sounded interesting and it had a picture of Taylor Lautner and I was kind of curious what he was up to.  I was extremely surprised to turn on episode one and find Andy Samberg as the title character.

Honestly, he’s usually someone I can take or leave, but after only a few minutes into the first episode, I was sold.  He was hilarious, along with all the other characters–seriously, everyone in it is perfect–it actually had me laughing out loud.  The dynamic between Cuckoo and Ken, especially in that third episode is too amazing for words.  And the episode with the cat that you just have to watch for yourself.

I couldn’t help but look ahead and see that Cuckoo leaves the show after season one (along with the original actress who played Rachel) and was worried that it would completely chance the dynamic of the show.  Which at first, it kind of did.  But the show quickly picks up again and seasons 2 and 3 are just as good as the first, and maybe in some ways a little better.

Taylor Lautner’s character Dale is amazing.  I wasn’t expecting much since the only thing I’ve seen him in was the Twilight series, but he’s perfect in this role.  Every time he laughs is my favorite thing!  Each episode I kept thinking how much I love the show for all the jokes, and the characters, and everything else in-between.

It’s already been picked up for two more seasons, which I CAN NOT wait for.  If you like British comedies (more along the lines of Fresh Meat than The Office) than you’ve got to check out this show.  Seriously, I practically watched an entire season in a day.

If you’ve seen it, let me know what you thought!

Available on Netflix.

Leave a Reply

