Star Trek: Beyond

startrekbeyond

4/5 Stars

Summary: “A surprise attack in outer space forces the Enterprise to crash-land on a mysterious world. The assault came from Krall, a lizard-like dictator who derives his energy by sucking the life out of his victims. Krall needs an ancient and valuable artifact that’s aboard the badly damaged starship. Left stranded in a rugged wilderness, Kirk, Spock and the rest of the crew must now battle a deadly alien race while trying to find a way off their hostile planet.

I was a big fan of the first of these Star Trek reboot movies.  (Not so much with the second)  I stayed away from the trailers and most of the info that came out on the movie, so I wasn’t sure what to expect.  I’m happy to say it was a pretty good movie.

I’ve never watched the original Star Trek movies/show, but I got the feeling that this movie went back to those roots.  Some of the dialogue and actions just had that older feel, but not in an overly cheesy way.  While the movie had more than its fair share of action, there were some great moments between the characters that I loved.

The whole Bones/Spock arc was funny and would’ve loved even more of that.  This movie spent a lot of time focusing on those two and Kirk, but left the other main characters like Sulu and Uhura slip into the background.  It felt weird, knowing that they were there but not really doing that much.  Especially with them revealing Sulu to be gay and having Uhura/Spock going through something, it seemed like there was plenty of story to be told with them during this time.  I’d love to know what (if anything) was written for them but cut from the final movie.

Jaylah was probably one of my favorite parts of the movie (her scenes with Scotty!) and hope that if there is a fourth installment she will be included.

Have you seen the movie yet?  Let me know what you thought.  And anyone know if there was an after credit scene?  Some people stayed in the theatre, but I hadn’t heard about one and was starving so I left.

5 thoughts on “Star Trek: Beyond

      1. That’s good to know. Thanks! 3D has been such a disappointment for me the last few years. I remember seeing Thor in 3D and wasn’t impressed and it doesn’t seem like it’s gotten much better since. The Hobbit movies and Oz the Great and Powerful are the only movies I can think of in years that I was impressed with the 3D quality.

        Like

      2. Yeah. They don’t really use 3D to add anything to the movie anymore. It’s just to bring in extra money. I usually only go for it when the movie time is better than standard.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I agree. It’s definitely a way to charge more without providing more. And the sad thing is that most of the movies are supposed to be shot using 3D film instead of doing an overlay like they used to do back when I thought the quality was better.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

