Thirteen

4cc59daf-d70a-4366-bb49-721c350683fe

2.5/5 Stars

Summary: “The story follows 26-year-old Ivy Moxam, who was the victim of a kidnapping during which she was held captive in a cellar for 13 years. After escaping from her attacker’s prison, she returns to her family home but struggles to put her life back together. As police begin to make sense of the case, evidence contradicts Ivy’s statement, leaving detectives to suspect she is hiding something from them.”

I love British tv, from their comedies to their dramas, so I figured I should give this one a try.  For it to make it onto BBC America, someone had to have liked it in the first place, right?  But I couldn’t get behind it.

The beginning had some promise, though it started out pretty similar to The Family, which ended not that long ago (and that I loved WHY WAS IT CANCELED?!)  But then the differences started to emerge, and it wasn’t really that interesting.  It was trying hard to be mysterious and to leave the audience guessing what Ivy was hiding.  I just didn’t care.

I wanted to like it, I really did.  The characters weren’t interesting or likable, it was very slow paced, and the ending was terrible–not in a “how could they end it there, I need more” kind of way either.  I had to double check that it was actually a mini-series and that there wouldn’t be a second season (not that I’d want to watch it).

Ending aside, I wouldn’t say don’t watch the show, I guess it could be good for the right person, but there are so many other great shows out there that are better worth your time.

Did you watch the show and think I’m completely wrong?  Let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

