Hail, Caesar!

maxresdefault1

3/5 Stars

Summary: “In the early 1950s, Eddie Mannix is busy at work trying to solve all the problems of the actors and filmmakers at Capitol Pictures. His latest assignments involve a disgruntled director, a singing cowboy, a beautiful swimmer and a handsome dancer. As if all this wasn’t enough, Mannix faces his biggest challenge when Baird Whitlock gets kidnapped while in costume for the swords-and-sandals epic “Hail, Caesar!” If the studio doesn’t pay $100,000, it’s the end of the line for the movie star.”

What did I just watch?  I know Coen Brothers movies are usually different, but I’m not too sure about this one.  To be fair, throughout the first 20 minutes of the movie I had people repeatedly interrupting me to ask annoying questions and then talking obnoxiously loud in the other room, but I still got the gist of what was going on.

I was expecting this movie to be really funny, the commercials looked hilarious, but they did what movies tend to do and put all the funny parts in the trailer and leave little left for the movie itself.  There were some funny moments that I hadn’t seen, but they were spaced out between boring scenes that did nothing for me.

The side characters are really what make the movie worth watching at all.  An entire movie on Hobie Doyle and Laurence Laurentz would be absolutely amazing.  Seriously, I need that in my life.  Right now.

Now that I think about it, I actually really liked all the characters minus the main two (Eddie Mannix and Baird Whitlock).  To me, they were completely overshadowed by everyone else, leaving the movie to feel like a weird mashup of characters and stories that really didn’t belong together and don’t get enough time to really become anything.

Please tell me I’m not the only one slightly disappointed by this movie!  Let me know in the comments.

 

Leave a Reply

