Billy and Me – Giovanna Fletcher

9781405909952

3.5/5 Stars

Summary: “Sophie May is content with her life in her small English village, working in the local coffee shop and living with her mom. But when famous actor Billy comes to town to play Mr. Darcy in a new film adaptation of Pride and Prejudice, Sophie’s quiet life is quickly turned on its head. Billy is adored by women around the world, but he only wants Sophie on his arm. But being with Billy comes at a price, and Sophie is thrown in the spotlight after years of shying away from attention. Can she handle the constant scrutiny that comes with being with Billy?”

The first word that comes to mind after reading this book is “nice.”  The story wasn’t exactly boring to read, I was wanting to continue to find out what happened next, but it didn’t have me hooked.  The beginning held a lot of promise.  I liked the set up of the characters, I liked that Sophie was someone who didn’t seem to have he life together, because who wants to read about perfect people all the time?

The plot seemed like it was going to be interesting, Sophie dealing with dating an actor, figuring out what she wanted from life while learning how to cope with the sudden “fame,” but that isn’t totally where it went.  The transition to part two of the book was way too abrupt, relationship-wise.  Sophie and Billy went from A to Z, without us getting to see much past E.

On top of that, there were hints at some interesting conflict here and there, but they were quickly dealt with to focus on Sophie’s ridiculous (in my opinion, but I’m not even going to get into that) problem with Billy’s job. And Sophie was barely active throughout the entire book!  Almost everything that happened, happened to her and she was just going along for the ride.  I get that fits in with her character, but I would’ve liked to see her go and do something somewhere in the middle of the story.

This book is one of those cases where I didn’t mind reading it, but now that I’ve finished, I notice all the things that I didn’t like.  It kind of reminded me of how I used to write fan fictions with no real ending in mind so it would just go on and on with no major ups and downs.  Maybe I just like more complicated books and am not that used to YA novels anymore.

There is a sequel, which I am interested to read, but not so much that I’ll get to it any time soon.

Agree or disagree completely?  Let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

