The Sky is Everywhere – Jandy Nelson

the-sky-is-everywhere-book-cover

3.5/5 Stars

Summary: “Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life – and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey’s boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie’s own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they’re the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can’t collide without the whole wide world exploding.”

I guess at this point into reading all the books from the Zoella book club, I have to say this isn’t my genre.  In high school, the Young Adult books I was reading were usually fantasy with the exception of the Gossip Girl books, so I guess now reading all of these so close together is getting to be a little much.

Don’t get me wrong, the story was enjoyable, but I felt like it had the potential to be something more.  This is another book that people absolutely rave about.  I just don’t see it.  It’s similar to all the other books in this genre.  Boy meets girl and are obsessed with each other after approximately zero seconds.  I can take that every once in a while, but since I just finished All the Bright Places last week, they were too similar in that way.

I think if the aspects of the book aside from the romance between Lennie and Joe had been expanded on, the book could’ve been great.  I wanted more about Paige and more about what Bailey had been up to.  More about Lennie’s grief other than her saying how she shouldn’t be thinking about boys after her sister just died.

There were some parts of the book that were beautifully said, the meaning behind the title for one, which were nice treats while reading.  Overall, this is probably a great book for someone in high school, especially if they are dealing with similar situations.

If you’re one of those people who thought this book was amazing, let me know what I’m missing in the comments!

Leave a Reply

