The Book of Life

book-of-life-twitter

3.5/5 Stars

Summary: “Manolo, a young man who is torn between fulfilling the expectations of his family and following his heart, embarks on an adventure that spans three fantastic worlds where he must face his greatest fears.”

While I definitely don’t watch as many animated movies as I used to, there are still some that look interesting and are worth a watch.  The Book of Life isn’t necessarily a movie I’d watch over and over again like some of my favorite animated movies (ahem, Shrek), I’m glad I watched it.  It was a cute story with some good jokes thrown in there every once and a while.

A huge plus to the movie is the Mexican culture.  I’d learned a little about the Day of the Dead back in spanish class years ago, but there were still many things I didn’t know about.  It’s nice seeing something different then what we’re all used to seeing on screen.

For kids, this is a great movie, they’d probably really enjoy it.  For adults it’s still worth a watch, just not a must see.

Available on HBO Go.

Leave a Reply

