The Road

the-road

4.5/5 Stars

Summary: “America is a grim, gray shadow of itself after a catastrophe. A man and his young son wander through this post-apocalyptic world, trying to keep the dream of civilization alive. They journey toward the sea, surviving as best they can on what they can scavenge, and try to avoid roving gangs of savage humans who will turn them into slaves, or worse.”

I’m going to start out by saying I’ve never read The Road, so I have no idea if this is a good adaptation or not.  That being said, I thought it was a great movie.

Since I just watched Midnight Special the night before, I couldn’t help think of the similarities between the two.  They’re very contained stories about getting to a specific location without much explanation as to why.  They both start and end in the middle of something, leaving you to put the pieces together.  Everything Midnight Special did wrong, The Road did right.

It didn’t matter that there was no background on how the world got to be the horrible place it is because it was the characters themselves that mattered.  Very early on, you care about what happens to them.  You can see how desperate they are to survive and at the same time, willing to die.

The movie has a lot of quiet moments–it’s definitely not a movie for people looking for action.  By the way it is told, you get so drawn into the world and the events you don’t realize two hours have gone by.  I guess I was super into it because I even had a dream about the apocalypse last night.

There are some questions about the world and some of the events of the story that I would love to have answered, but they weren’t necessary for the movie.  Even the ending which is a pretty big cliffhanger and potential start of a sequel (I don’t think there is or will be one though), I liked it.  It’s open for interpretation.

I know what I think happens next, so if you’ve seen the movie let me know which way you think it goes in the comments.  Also, if you’ve read the book, do I need to check it out?

Available on Netflix.

Leave a Reply

