Very Good Girls

very_good_girls_poster

3.5/5 Stars

Summary: “Two teenagers make a pact to lose their virginity before college, but they both fall for the same artist, which threatens their lifelong friendship.”

First, I’ve got to say that the summary for Very Good Girls makes it sound cheesier than it actually is.  I was expecting it to be a silly kind of movie for some reason, but it turned out to be a decent coming of age story.  It wasn’t all about them trying to loose their virginity, but about their friendship and life.

Yeah, it was pretty predictable, but that didn’t stop me from enjoying watching it all unfold.  The acting was good, I don’t think I’ve ever seen Elizabeth Olsen in anything before, and I think Dakota Fanning should be in more movies again.  Their characters were likable and I would watch more of them.  The end of the movie made me want to watch what they do next.

Secondary plots in the movie deal with both girls’ families, and are a little strange.  They were needed to give more depth to the characters, but they weren’t enough to make them feel important in any other way.

Available on Amazon Prime.

Leave a Reply

