The Forest

6358608536728546211434237912_the20forest20201620horror20movie20trailer20title20directed20by20jason20zada20starring20natalie20dormer20taylor20kinney20eoin20macken

3/5 Stars

Summary: “A woman goes into Japan’s Suicide Forest to find her twin sister, and confronts supernatural terror.”

Ask anyone, I am not a fan of horror movies.  Ghost things scare the heck out of me ever since watching Poltergeist when I was way to young to be watching it.  But every once in a while, one looks interesting and I talk myself into watching it…just not the really scary ones that people who watch horror movies all the time are actually afraid of.

So, while most people would probably not find The Forest that scary, I was definitely creeped out.  For a horror movie though, there was a surprising lack of jump scares.  Now after watching it, I can’t really think of what made it scary in the first place.  I feel like it is more the story behind it all rather than the story in the movie.

The plot was lacking in a big way, from beginning to end.  It would touch on things and then never fully go into detail.  Before I knew it, the movie was over.  At first, I was mad about the ending.  Since it felt so short, it seemed like the movie just stopped in the middle of the story.  After thinking about it though, it worked.  In a weird way, it was the best part of the movie.

I read a theory on IMDB that makes the whole movie seem a bit more interesting.  If it is meant to be true, which I kind of hope it is, I would’ve loved to see some actual confirmation of it in the movie.

Watch this movie only if you’re moderately into horror.  I think any real fan would’t be that interested or scared.

Available on HBO Go.

Leave a Reply

