The Revised Fundamentals of Caregiving – Jonathan Evison

51vd6y3akml-_sx323_bo1204203200_

3.5/5 Stars

Summary: “Jonathan Evison has crafted a novel of the heart, a novel of unlikely heroes traveling through a grand American landscape, and most of all, a story that offers a profound look into what it takes to truly care for another person. Bursting with energy and filled with moments of absolute beauty, this bighearted and inspired novel ponders life’s terrible surprises as well as its immeasurable rewards.”

A couple months ago I watched The Fundamentals of Caring on Netflix and absolutely loved it, so of course I had to read the book.  I couldn’t believe how different they were!  This is the rare case where I actually enjoyed the movie way more than the book.  I kind of feel like if I hadn’t seen the movie first, the book wouldn’t have done that much for me.

Everyone knows that when a book is turned into a movie or show, there are going to be differences.  Usually they leave out your favorite bits and maybe make a few random changes.  With The Revised Fundamentals of Caregiving, they changed what I felt was a pretty big part of the plot.  While the book is told from the perspective of Ben, the movie gives you a little more into what Trev gets up to.  Plus the movie is a lot funnier.  I feel like if I had read and loved the book first, the movie would’ve been disappointing as an adaptation.

I would say it is a decent book, but I would 100% suggest the movie over it.

Leave a Reply

