Now You See Me 2

nsysm-website

4/5 Stars

Summary: “After fleeing from a stage show, the illusionists known as the Four Horsemen find themselves in more trouble in Macau, China. Devious tech wizard Walter Mabry forces the infamous magicians to steal a powerful chip that can control all of the world’s computers. Meanwhile, vengeful FBI agent Dylan Rhodes hatches his own plot against Thaddeus Bradley, the man he blames for the death of his father.”

Now You See Me 2 was a surprisingly good movie for me.  I saw the first one back when it came out, and remembered only who the four main characters were and that there was magic involved.  Also that I thought it was a decent movie.  I went into this not expecting much, it’s a sequel for a movie I didn’t think needed a sequel after all.

But it was a fun watch.  I enjoyed the back and forth between the characters and how fast paced the dialogue is.  It did trip me up a few times, not fully getting what was going on, but I’m going to go ahead and blame that on my bad memory.   I spent a lot of the beginning trying to play catchup, maybe now I’ll go back and rewatch the first one, but I probably won’t.

Woody Harrelson’s twin character was a major highlight!  I would’ve loved to see more of him because just his smile was hilarious.  Daniel Radcliffe was great too!

As much as I enjoyed the humor throughout the beginning of the movie, I kind of hated the ending.  It all comes together too easily.  It’s like let’s quickly wrap up all these loose ends and even some loose ends that you might not have realized were there.  (Was it just me or was the whole Morgan Freeman revelation weird?)

Watch this movie when you’re in the mood to pay attention because if you only half-watch, you’re going to miss a lot.

Leave a Reply

