The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo – Amy Schumer

the-girl-with-the-lower-back-tattoo-9781501139888_hr

4/5 Stars

Summary: “In The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo, Amy mines her past for stories about her teenage years, her family, relationships, and sex and shares the experiences that have shaped who she is – a woman with the courage to bare her soul to stand up for what she believes in, all while making us laugh.”

I am new to the Amy Schumer bandwagon.  After watching (and loving) Trainwreck, I wanted to check out some of her other stuff.

I’ve never done the whole audiobook thing before, but I figured a book like this would be the perfect thing to listen to while at work—I was right.  While not as laugh-out-loud funny as I was expecting it to be, it was a great read.

It had so many personal stories ranging from the ridiculous to the heartbreaking.  There were many chapters that had a real meaning behind them with lessons about life from dealing with her father’s MS to domestic abuse.  The chapter about the shooting at the screening of Trainwreck actually had me choking up.

I had expected the book to be light and funny and really just there to entertain, but it ended up being so much more, it surpassed my expectations.  The book felt honest and it’s entertaining all the way through.

Plus, I loved listening to it in her voice.

Leave a Reply

