P.S. I Love You – Cecelia Ahern

366522

3/5 Stars

Summary: “Holly couldn’t live without her husband Gerry, until the day she had to. They were the kind of young couple who could finish each other’s sentences. When Gerry succumbs to a terminal illness and dies, 30-year-old Holly is set adrift, unable to pick up the pieces. But with the help of a series of letters her husband left her before he died and a little nudging from an eccentric assortment of family and friends, she learns to laugh, overcome her fears, and discover a world she never knew existed.”

P.S. I Love You is one of my favorite movies.  Back in High School, I used to watch it all the time…it’s been a while though.

I had no idea it was based on a book, but I stumbled upon it on Goodreads and picked it up. The difference between the book and the movie is crazy!  It’s basically got the same general shell, but what happens in each are two totally different things.

I know it could be because I watched the movie first, but I feel like the way the story was told there was a million times better.  It was emotional, and I connected with the characters more.  The book dragged on for too long and the letters from Gerry weren’t that big of a deal.  They were short and not as personal as the letters in the movie were.

While the movie left me loving the idea of leaving letters for the people in your life after death, the book didn’t leave any sort of lasting impression.

Who else has read/watched both?  Let me know which you think is better!

Leave a Reply

