The Girl on the Train

maxresdefault

4/5 Stars

Summary: “Commuter Rachel Watson catches daily glimpses of a seemingly perfect couple, Scott and Megan, from the window of her train. One day, Watson witnesses something shocking unfold in the backyard of the strangers’ home. Rachel tells the authorities what she thinks she saw after learning that Megan is now missing and feared dead. Unable to trust her own memory, the troubled woman begins her own investigation, while police suspect that Rachel may have crossed a dangerous line.”

I knew I was going to like this movie before I even saw it.  Does that make me a little biased?  Probably.  But if you like thrillers, you still need to go and see this one.

I love an unreliable narrator because they create amazing stories, if done right.  The Girl on the Train gives you great characters that are well acted and a story that will keep you guessing.  I hadn’t seen the twist coming, but then I remembered back to the little clues from earlier on in the movie and it made sense.

The ending came and went a little to quick for my taste.  I would’ve liked the final conflict to have been dragged out a little bit longer and have felt more tense/dangerous.  There were also a couple of characters that I feel like must’ve been more important in the book than they were in the movie.  They were played by well known actors, but didn’t have that big of a role in the movie.

If you enjoy movies like Gone Girl, as much as I do, this is what you should be going to see next weekend.

On a side note, why does it feel like every movie I’ve watched lately is based on a book?  Just one more to add to my TBR list.

One thought on “The Girl on the Train

Leave a Reply

