Penny Dreadful

Penny Dreadful

4.5/5 Stars

Want a new show to become obsessed with? Here you go!

If you haven’t already heard of it, think Once Upon A Time meets the world of old science fiction.  Basically characters like Frankenstein and Dorian Gray are thrown together in this world with great new characters as well.

You don’t have to know the original stories to be into this, just as long as you enjoy dark Victorian thrillers.  It took me until the third episode to really get hooked, so even if you don’t love it right away, keep going.  I watched the whole first season in a weekend and quickly finished the rest shortly after.

I have to admit the following two seasons aren’t alway as good, but each episode still left me needing to see what happened next.  I really loved all of the different characters so much, there wasn’t one that had a storyline I didn’t care about.

From what I’ve seen online, the show was canceled after season 3, but having watched it, I guess they had time to give it a proper ending.  I mean, it had The End written on the screen.  The whole last season did feel kind of rushed so maybe they were told ahead of time it was going to be the end and they wanted to get everything in in time.

Whatever it was, I enjoyed how all the seasons tied in together and felt like the ending for all of the characters was really fitting for the show, even if I wasn’t exactly happy with some (okay all) of the endings.  You’ll know what I mean when you get there.

Go check it out and tell me what you think!

Available on Netflix.

2 thoughts on “Penny Dreadful

Leave a Reply

