Equals

equals-movie

1/5 Stars

Summary: “Nia and Silas work together in a futuristic society known as the Collective. A seemingly utopian world, the Collective has ended crime and violence by genetically eliminating all human emotions. Despite this, Nia and Silas develop a growing attraction that leads to a forbidden and passionate romance. As suspicion begins to mount among their superiors, the couple must choose between going back to the safety of their lives or risking it all to try and pull off a daring escape.”

So I’ve been on vacation the past week, which is why I haven’t posted in a while, but since we drove down to FL, I watched a bunch of movies.  Get ready.

This is the first movie I’m putting on here that I couldn’t even finish.  It’s rare that I will start a movie and not see it through, but halfway in and like 5 hours into our trip, I couldn’t take do it.

The idea for the movie is cool, I’ll give it that even though it’s not that original an idea.  A world where humans have been freed of their emotions could lead to many different stories.  The way this one was told though didn’t keep my interest.  It is so slow and quiet, and I feel like the emotionless-ness did get to me.

Half way in and nothing really happened.  Even when something was happening, it didn’t feel like much, I didn’t really care about what happened to Nia and Silas.

The fact that Kristen Stewart is one of the main characters didn’t help, either.  Maybe she’s done a good movie, but I haven’t seen it.  I really only decided to give it a chance because of Nicholas Hoult and because it kept showing up in my suggestions.

Let me know if you’ve seen it and what you thought.  If you haven’t, I’d suggest choosing something else to watch.

Available on Amazon Prime.

One thought on “Equals

Leave a Reply

