Pride and Prejudice and Zombies

pride-and-prejudice-and-zombies-quad-poster

3/5 Stars

Summary: “In the 19th century, a mysterious plague turns the English countryside into a war zone. No one is safe as the dead come back to life to terrorize the land. Fate leads Elizabeth Bennet, a master of martial arts and weaponry, to join forces with Mr. Darcy, a handsome but arrogant gentleman. Elizabeth can’t stand Darcy, but respects his skills as a zombie killer. Casting aside their personal differences, they unite on the blood-soaked battlefield to save their country.”

Mehhh.

I can’t say I didn’t like Pride + Prejudice + Zombies, but I can’t really say I liked it either.  I’ve never been able to get through any version of Pride and Prejudice that I have tried to read/watch, so it shouldn’t have surprised me that I didn’t love the story.  I feel like fans of the original story would appreciate the movie a little more, if they’re fine with the whole zombie thing.

In my opinion, it was more Jane Austin than zombie movie, which was what disappointed me.  I’m not sure what the Pride + Prejudice + Zombies book is like, but I wanted the girls to be badass zombie killers who were out there fighting to survive and then getting home in time for tea or something like that.

With the exception for a few bits, you could almost forget that they’re living in the zombie apocalypse.

I don’t know, wouldn’t watch it again, but not upset that I saw it in the first place.  If you’ve read the book, let me know what you thought, I don’t know anyone who has!

Leave a Reply

