Hacksaw Ridge

hacksawridge_cliprescue

4/5 Stars

Summary: “The extraordinary true story of conscientious objector Desmond T. Doss who saved 75 men in Okinawa, during the bloodiest battle of WWII, without firing a single shot. Believing that the war was just but killing was nevertheless wrong, he was the only American soldier in WWII to fight on the front lines without a weapon. As an army medic Doss single-handedly evacuated the wounded near enemy lines – braving enemy fire and putting his own life on the line. He was the first conscientious objector to ever win the Congressional Medal of Honor.”

This is the kind of war movie I want to be watching!  Based on a true story that should have been told a long time ago, Hacksaw Ridge is a movie about the people in a war and not the war itself.  Too many times I sit down to watch some of these movies and it’s all about killing this guy and blowing that up and the plot gets left behind 5 minutes in.

The life of Desmond T Doss is an incredible story and made a great movie.

You will laugh, you will probably cry, and feel a bunch of different emotions in between.  I thought it was weird when I saw Vince Vaughn show up on screen…what is he doing in a serious movie?  But his character was perfect and I loved it.

If you don’t like graphic violence, stay away from this one because I felt like it was one of the more graphic war movies I have seen in a while.  Not in a bad way, but the person I sat next to in the theatre kept covering their eyes, so apparently it’s a little much for some.

Love it?  Hate it?  Adding it to your watch list?  Let me know.

2 thoughts on “Hacksaw Ridge

  1. Totally want to see this movie. Got to admit that Vince Vaughan in a serious movie is a weird sight. I had the same thoughts when I heard he was going to be in True Detective Season 2. He wasn’t that bad though, it was just the story of that season that was sort of “meh”. Glad to hear this movie was great! Definitely hyped to see it. 😛

    – Lashaan

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hope you like it! I never got around to watching True Detective. Just as I was about to start, everyone started talking about how bad season 2 was so I moved onto something else.

      Like

Leave a Reply

