Victoria – Daisy Goodwin

51e3y0cfeyl

4/5 Stars

Summary: “In 1837, less than a month after her eighteenth birthday, Alexandrina Victoria – sheltered, small in stature, and female – became Queen of Great Britain and Ireland. Many thought it was preposterous: Alexandrina — Drina to her family — had always been tightly controlled by her mother and her household, and was surely too unprepossessing to hold the throne. Yet from the moment William IV died, the young Queen startled everyone: abandoning her hated first name in favor of Victoria; insisting, for the first time in her life, on sleeping in a room apart from her mother; resolute about meeting with her ministers alone.”

I was really excited when I found out I received an ARC for this book!  I am obsessed with historical dramas and I’ve never seen or read anything on Queen Victoria, and her life sounded interesting.

Right away I was drawn into the story and had to stop myself from actually googling her to find out what was going to happen next quicker.  It’s a looong book, and took me longer than it should have to finish, but it kept my attention the whole way through.

Daisy Goodwin does a great job getting into Victoria’s head and bringing this real person back to life.  She apparently did a lot of research from Victoria’s actual diaries, which I would love to be able to read myself (I don’t know if that’s something people can just do?)

I was a little disappointed by the ending to be honest, which was a bit of a let down.  For how long the book was, the ending felt too quick.  I’m not sure if there is meant to be a sequel, but I’m really hoping that it’s not left there!

I think there either is already or there is going to be a series with the same topic written by the same writer, and I can’t wait!

Everyone who loves books like Outlander or shows like The Crown needs to go get this book.

One thought on “Victoria – Daisy Goodwin

Leave a Reply

