Split

split-james-mcavoy-1

4/5 Stars

Summary: “Though Kevin has evidenced 23 personalities to his trusted psychiatrist, Dr. Fletcher, there remains one still submerged who is set to materialize and dominate all of the others. Compelled to abduct three teenage girls led by the willful, observant Casey, Kevin reaches a war for survival among all of those contained within him — as well as everyone around him — as the walls between his compartments shatter.”

I have been waiting for this movie to come out since I first saw the trailer MONTHS ago!  While it wasn’t exactly what I had hoped it was going to be, it didn’t disappoint.

If you’re like me and think stories about Dissociative Identity Disorder are really interesting (Sybil United States of Tara), you’re going to want to give Split a try.  James McAvoy plays the different personalities incredibly well, each with different accents and mannerisms.  One of the plot lines in the movie is about a therapist who studies the disorder, which leads to some interesting ideas about it including the little twist at the end.

The one thing that was a bit disappointing, for me at least, was that it wasn’t that creepy or suspenseful.  I feel like it really had the potential to leave you on the edge of your seat, but it never got there.  It’s still an enjoyable thriller with different pieces that come together really well in the end.

Because it’s written and directed by M. Night Shyamalan, I had my doubts about the movie (I still haven’t forgiven him for butchering The Last Airbender) but I feel like he’s back in a good place with this one.

Loved it?  Hated it?  Let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

