The Truman Show

5d1197ba3d200bbb9d1965f999de929d

3/5 Stars

Summary: “An insurance salesman/adjuster discovers his entire life is actually a television show.”

Look at me watching another one of those “classic” movies that I’ve never seen and people always talk about!

Unfortunately, like with The Usual Suspects, I didn’t really get the big deal.  It was an okay movie with an interesting idea, but not something I would choose to watch a second time or really even talk about afterwards.  This could be because of the time I’m watching it though.  Back in 1998, when it came out, I can see the appeal of how strange a story it is.  But now we have people who are sharing many aspects of their life with us on YouTube and all the other social media sites, it’s not that big of a deal.

There are a few funny moments, but it’s definitely not a Jim Carrey comedy.

I love that when The Truman Show first came out, the movie got categorized as fantasy/sci-fi, but now it’s kind of just life.  As I was watching the movie, I did start to think about what a remake/sequel would be like.  It’s like the perfect time for something like that to be made.  There’d be people wanting to put themselves in the same situation as Truman instead of (or probably along with) people trying to break him out and tell him the truth.  Plus it would feel a lot less cheesy like I thought some of the moments in the original were.

Overall, kind of a take it or leave it movie for me.  But if they sometime decide to pick up this world again, I will definitely be interested.

Available on Amazon Prime.

2 thoughts on “The Truman Show

Leave a Reply

