Hell or High Water

hell-or-high-water-poster-1280jpg-5bb653_1280w

3.5/5 Stars

Summary: “A divorced father and his ex-con older brother resort to a desperate scheme in order to save their family’s ranch in West Texas.”

Ehhhhh.

I didn’t love the movie, but I also didn’t hate it.  Hell or High Water is basically a modern day Western, while a lot of the time it’s easy to forget it is happening in modern day (for me at least).

The acting in the movie is great and it has a good plot, it just didn’t hook me as much as I would have liked.  I really don’t understand all the rave reviews people have written for it.

Personally, I could have done without the whole plot line of Jeff Bridges’ character.  I only really cared what he was up to at the very end, and by then, what’s the point?  I think the movie was missing some backstory elements that could have made you feel more for the characters earlier on instead of everything coming together in the second half.

If you can handle a slow paced movie about little more than robbing banks for 80% of it, give the movie a try and let me know what you think!

One thought on “Hell or High Water

Leave a Reply

